InStyle v. MyStyle

12 Jul

Yesterday I sat down and flipped through the July issue of InStyle, and I decided I would adjust the headlines to fit MyStyle. Here’s what I came up with … (Please note, these are actual headlines from this month’s InStyle):

InStyle: Rocker v. surfer … both are totally cool, but they appeal to very different personalities

MyStyle: Mom jeans v. jeggings … both are totally hideous, but appeal to very different personalities

 

InStyle: What would you snack on during an opera?

MyStyle: What would you snack on from your kid’s plate?

 

InStyle: Let there be neon

MyStyle: Only if it isn’t on my lower half

 

InStyle: (What to wear to a) wedding reception

MyStyle: (what to wear to a) playground in 95 degree weather and 100 percent humidity

 

InStyle: (What to wear to a) Sunday picnic

MyStyle: (what to wear to a) Sunday laundry marathon

 

InStyle: You can do the new prep

MyStyle: Why would I want to? I did the old prep

 

Instyle: Look cute at concerts

MyStyle: Look cute at “Day Out With Thomas”

 

InStyle: Supernatural style

MyStyle: Au Nat-ur-ale Style: How to go four days without washing your hair

 

InStyle: Show some skin … one time you’ll be happy to you have a hole in your shirt

MyStyle: I have a hole in my shirt? I never noticed

 

InStyle: Dream Weavers … wicker and raffia go far beyond the humble picnic basket

MyStyle: Picnic … won’t a used Target bag do?

 

InStyle: (Clothes for) Day into evening …

MyStyle: (Clothes for) Night into day … how to sleep in your clothes and then wear them for carpool

4 Responses to “InStyle v. MyStyle”

  1. Anonymous July 13, 2011 at 1:30 am #

    I would like for you to expand on your last headline- clothes you can sleep in and wear for carpool…

    • 40countdown July 13, 2011 at 1:44 am #

      Ha! Yes, I guess that’s not very clear. Sometimes I sleep in yoga pants, a t-shirt and job bra, and just get up and go in the morning. I used to wear work out clothes to bed thinking it would inspire me to excercise first thing in the morning, but that rarely worked. Now I just do it so I don’t have to take time to get dressed in the chaos of getting kids to preschool and a husband out the door to work. I only have to go to my office two days a week, so working at home in wrinkled yoga pants usually works for me. Thanks for reading and responding! Kathleen

  2. Autumn July 13, 2011 at 2:04 am #

    Kathleen, this is fun to read! And I USUALLY do preschool drop-off in whatever I wore the day before–also slept in–and then shower and change when I get home from drop off. So I totally get it. Hope you are doing well and glad to be counting down to 40 with you. I have a blog, but I write in it approximately once every 4 months. I walk around-carrying my iphone from room to room like Linus’ blanket also–drafting entries in my head but then I’m too tired at night to actually write them down. One day though!

    • 40countdown July 13, 2011 at 2:12 am #

      Hey Autumn ~ I am impressed you shower and change at some point! Ha! I Thanks so much for reading! I absolutely will check out your blog too. I walk around writing entries in my head as well, and most never make it to the computer. I hope I can stick with updating the blog til next June … generally I am not strong in the stick-to-it-ness category, so this project will be a challenge.

Leave a Reply

