About 40countdown

22 Jul

Note to the reader: I have had some questions about my inspiration for the blog. This is an excerpt from my first post that explains it pretty well.

I turned 39 in June, and for the next year I am counting down to my 40th birthday by blogging. Turning 40 means different things to different people, but I think that most will agree that by age 40 one is – at least chronologically – an adult.

But what does it mean to be a grown up? Becoming a responsible adult is not like hitting puberty. It’s not something that happens to you, and when it’s over – like it or not – you are different. It’s more like college graduation. You can arrive at commencement after four years of study and growth ready for the real world, or you can show up hung over and relieved a 2.5 is good enough to earn a diploma. Either way, you are graduating, but it doesn’t mean you are ready for what’s next.

So, for the next year, I am going to take a look at what it means to be in this phase of life (dare I say middle age). The accomplishments, the contentment, the struggles, the self awareness and the hopes for what the next 40 or 50 years will bring.

Being 39 makes me realize there are some things I will never accomplish – like being an Olympic gymnast or going to medical school. On a smaller scale, I know that I will never get up a 5 a.m. to work out or give up cheese for Lent. I am not such a strong woman. On the flip side, I have surprised myself with the amazing amount of multi-tasking I can do as a parent, that I really can get up every night at 4 a.m. for nearly a year to comfort or feed a small child, and that I have had several really fascinating careers. My resume – personal and professional – is beyond needing padding, and it will never fit on one page again.

I hope you will find ideas that you identify with, stories that make you laugh, opinions that make you think and positions that make you mad, but I don’t really ever want to make people mad because I am a pleaser. Join me as I count down to 40.

Leave a Reply

